WASHINGTON, DC – The U.S. Department of Labor has awarded more than $146 million to workforce agencies in 48 states, Puerto Rico, the U.S. Virgin Islands and the District of Columbia to operate their Reemployment Services and Eligibility Assessments programs. 

RESEA is an evidence-based program focused on individualized assessments, reemployment services and referrals to support an individual who is receiving unemployment benefits return to work more quickly. State agencies provide individual reemployment plans and support more informed job searches. This program is critical to states’ abilities to help individuals return to work as the nation’s economy recovers amid the pandemic. 

In the early stages of the coronavirus outbreak, many states shifted resources to respond to the unprecedented increase in new unemployment claims, and reduced or suspended their RESEA activities temporarily. States have since resumed their RESEA programs with greater use of remote services and virtual person-to-person video conferencing to deliver services.

“Reemployment Services and Eligibility Assessments programs have a proven track record of providing needed assistance that gets people back to work quicker,” said Principal Deputy Assistant Secretary for Employment and Training Suzi LeVine. “These funds will assist states as they grow and restructure their RESEA programs to assist workers who are struggling to recover from the economic effects of the pandemic.”

RESEA is one of many tools states have to introduce workers receiving unemployment benefits to services the broader workforce system provides. Individuals receiving benefits under temporary federal extension programs are ineligible to participate in RESEA but other state workforce systems’ resources are available.

Learn more about RESEA and individualized reemployment services.  

Editor’s Note:  A listing of award recipients follows this release.


Fiscal Year 2021 Reemployment Services and Eligibility Assessments Base Funding Awards



Alabama Department of Labor


Alaska Department of Labor and Workforce


Arizona Department of Economic Security


Arkansas Department of Labor


California Employment Development Department


Colorado Department of Labor and Employment


Connecticut Department of Labor


Delaware Division of Unemployment Insurance


District of Columbia Department of Employment Services


Florida Workforce Services


Georgia Department of Labor


Hawaii Department of Labor and Industrial Relations


Idaho Department of Labor


Illinois Department of Labor


Indiana Department of Workforce Development


Iowa Workforce Development


Kansas Department of Labor


Kentucky Labor Cabinet


Louisiana Workforce Commission


Maine Bureau of Unemployment Compensation


Maryland Department of Labor


Massachusetts Department of Unemployment Assistance


Michigan Department of Labor and Economic Opportunity


Minnesota Department of Employment and Economic Development


Mississippi Department of Employment Security


Missouri Division of Employment Security


Montana Department of Labor


Nebraska Department of Labor


Nevada Department of Employment Training and Rehabilitation


New Hampshire Department of Employment Security


New Jersey Department of Labor


New Mexico Department of Workforce Solutions


New York State Department of Labor


North Carolina Department of Commerce


Ohio Office of Workforce Development


Oklahoma Employment Security Commission


Oregon Employment Department


Pennsylvania Department of Labor and Industry


Puerto Rico Department of Labor and Human Resources


Rhode Island Department of Labor and Training


South Carolina Department of Employment and Workforce


South Dakota Department of Labor and Regulation


Tennessee Department of Labor


Texas Workforce Commission


Utah Department of Workforce Services


Vermont Department of Labor


Virgin Islands Department of Labor


Virginia Department of Labor


Washington Department of Labor


Workforce West Virginia


Wisconsin Department of Workforce




Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *