DENVER ‒ The U.S. Department of Labor’s Occupational Safety and Health Administration has recognized 16 Colorado employers for recording zero injury or illness incidents in 2022.

The companies are members of the OSHA Region VIII Voluntary Protection Programs Participants’ Association and are among 35 “Zeroes Heroes” companies in the six-state mountain region of Colorado, Montana, North Dakota, South Dakota, Utah and Wyoming. These following employers have all achieved OSHA’s Voluntary Protection Program status and demonstrate that developing comprehensive safety and health programs remains the most effective way for businesses to prevent injuries and illness on the job:

Plains End LLC in Arvada
Raytheon Technologies Corp. in Aurora
Tri-State Generation and Transmission Corporate Flight Operations in Broomfield
Navarro Research and Engineering Rocky Mountain Arsenal in Commerce City
NuStar Energy Central West Region Colorado District in Colorado Springs
AECOM Rocky Mountain Arsenal in Denver
Onward Energy SWG Arapahoe LLC in Denver
Owens Corning Trumbull Asphalt in Denver
U.S. Department of the Army Rocky Mountain Arsenal in Denver
Molson Coors Beverage Co. McIntyre Elevator in Golden
Onward Energy Fountain Valley Power in Fountain
Total Safety Denver District Office in Frederick
Molson Coors Beverage Co. Longmont Elevator in Longmont
Bechtel Inc. PCAPP in Pueblo
Black Hills Energy Pueblo Airport Generating Station in Pueblo
Hellman & Associates Inc. in Wheat Ridge

To understand the significance of the Zeroes Heroes status consider that the Bureau of Labor Statistics reports that private industries reported 2.6 million injuries and 5,190 fatalities in 2021.

At a June 7, 2023, conference in Westminster, Colorado, Region VIII VPPPA recognized its 35 zeroes heroes and presented awards for significant achievement in the safety and health profession.

“These ‘Zeroes Heroes’ sites show that by committing to systems-based approaches to employee safety and health — such as the OSHA Voluntary Protection Programs — employers can keep workers safe and free of injury,” explained OSHA Regional Administrator Jennifer Rous in Denver. “OSHA applauds the hard work of our VPP partners that kept their worksites free of workplace injuries in 2022. The determination of these companies and a group of volunteers to provide members with conferences, training, mentoring and other assistance to ensure effective safety and health programs is a model for others to follow.”

During the June conference, OSHA Region VIII VPP also presented Leaders of the Year awards to Jonathan Caccamise from Onward Energy’s SWG Arapahoe LLC in Denver; Joseph Sviatko from Black Hills Energy’s Cheyenne Prairie Generating Station in Cheyenne, Wyoming, and Ryan Hellman from Hellman and Associates LLC in Wheat Ridge, Colorado.

The OSHA Region VIII named Bob Simmons of Marvin, a building materials wholesaler, its Special Government Employee of the Year for his service on multiple VPP onsite evaluate teams, assistance with formal training programs, and for providing driver safety outreach in his voluntary service.

OSHA Region VIII also recognized four companies for successfully completing at least 10 continuous years of participation in the VPP program, namely RK Industries in Denver; Northrop Grumman in New Town, North Dakota; NuStar Energy’s Central East Region in Jamestown, North Dakota; and Phillips 66’s Casper Station in Casper, Wyoming.

Learn more about developing effective safety and health programs.

Four companies were recognized for successfully completing at least 10 continuous years of participation in the VPP program. These companies included:  RK Industries in Denver; Northrop Grumman in New Town, North Dakota; NuStar Energy, Central East Region in Jamestown, North Dakota, and Phillips 66, Casper Station in Casper, Wyoming.

Review the complete list of 35 companies recognized as “Zeroes Heroes.”

Learn more about the VPPPA National Program and its annual Safety+ – an integrated safety and health management systems symposium set for Sept. 17-20 in Orlando, Florida.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *